2016 Annual Conference

Click here to see videos of the talks presented at 22 in 21: The State of Our Community

What: The fifth annual 22 in 21 “Jackson Hole in the 21st Century: The State of Our Community — Our Biggest Challenges; Our Biggest Opportunities”
Date: Thursday, January 14, 2016
Time: 10:30 am – 5:15 pm, with social hour to follow
Location: Spring Creek Ranch
Cost: $50/person, includes lunch and social hour

Presented by the Charture Institute and 1% for the Tetons. Sponsors include First Western Trust and the Jackson Hole News&Guide.

The focus of this year’s 22 in 21: Community is “The State of Our Community – Our Biggest Challenge; Our Biggest Opportunity.”

Attendees will hear talks by the leaders of the region’s major federal and local public agencies, addressing the subject: “The State of My Jurisdiction.”  In their talks, the speakers will address four specific questions:

  • What is crucial for attendees to know about the state of your jurisdiction?
  • What is the single biggest challenge facing your jurisdiction?
  • What is the single biggest opportunity facing your jurisdiction?
  • What is one thing the community can do to help you address your biggest challenge or opportunity?


A.  Welcome – 10:30-10:45 (15 minutes)

1. Jonathan Schechter – ED, Charture Institute

B. State of My Jurisdiction I – 10:45-11:55 (70 minutes)

1. Barb Allen – Chair, Teton County, WY Board of Commissioners
2. Sara Flitner – Mayor, Town of Jackson
3. Mike Tennican – Chair, St. John’s Medical Center Board
4 .Patricia Nichols – Chair, Teton WY School Board
5. Bill Leake – Chair, Teton County ID Board of Commissioners
6. Hyrum Johnson – Mayor, City of Driggs
7. Zach Smith – Mayor, City of Victor

C.  Discussion – 11:55-12:30 (35 minutes)

D.  Lunch – 12:30-1:30 (60 minutes)

E.  State of My Jurisdiction II – 1:30-2:20 (50 minutes)

1. Dan Wenk – Superintendent, Yellowstone National Park
2. David Vela – Superintendent, Grand Teton National Park
3. Tricia O’Connor – Supervisor, Bridger-Teton National Forest
4. Steve Kallin – Manager, National Elk Refuge
5. Sandy Shuptrine – Chair, Teton County WY Conservation District Board

F.  Discussion – 2:20-2:45 (25 minutes)

G.  Break – 2:45-3:00 (15 minutes)

H.  Break-Out Groups – 3:00-4:45 (75 minutes)

I.  Reports from Break-Out Groups – 4:45-5:15 (30 minutes)

J.  Social hour – 5:30-7:00 (90 minutes)